Writing: Story Ideas

I love reading, but every so often I think to myself, ‘Wouldn’t it be nice to write a novel of my own?’ When this feeling strikes, I tend to come up with a few story ideas and get pumped. Super pumped, as I start thinking about how the characters will interact and how the story will progress. There will be a twist here, a turn there, and sad scene that pulls on the heart strings and another scene that makes your smile. It will be a good book.

And every good book needs companion, so I start to think of series and multiple standalone story ideas. By the time I’m done coming up with a few ideas, I feel accomplished. I have a story idea! Hear me roar…with a pen, so I suppose it would be ‘Read me roar!’ But I think we can all agree that it doesn’t have the same sort of bite to it as the previous statement.

I start to think up pen names, because I can’t stand attention and even though I would be proud of my books, I wouldn’t want my name associated with them for fear of people finding out and looking at me differently. It’s weird and complicated, but that doesn’t stop me from coming up with some awesome pen names. I get three down, before thinking of the prologues that will not only entice readers to read the novels, but will suck them in even if they don’t want to.

Then, I smile, maybe pat myself on the back for a job well done and leave. Nothing happens after that. My ideas stay just that, ideas. Ideas that are going no where fast.

I’m not sure why I don’t just start writing. I think I lack motivation, no, I know I lack it. It’s just that, every time I’ve tried writing a novel, I stop due to self editing and being overly critical of my work. I also get bored and stop due to that as well. It’s kind of depressing.

NaNoWriMo is coming up and one of my goals is to complete the 50 thousand word challenge. Even if my work is utter garbage, I want to see my ideas take fruit in a story and prove to myself that I can do this. Before that happens, I need to start planning. Outlines, settings, characters and all that fun stuff should be planned now instead later.

I don’t even know where to start, but I’ll be chronicling my journey here so that I don’t get discouraged. Here’s hoping I do well and not quit.

I need to remember that sucking at something is the first step at being kind of good at it. I know I suck, I’m my own worse critic, but I can still do this. Not only for my sake, but the sake of all of these story ideas that are just waiting for a chance to be written. It’s getting ridiculous how many I’ve thought up.

NaNoWrimo, here I come!

But first, sleepy time. Then busy life stuff, then the planning begins!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Writing: Story Ideas

  1. Good luck! I tried it last year and didn’t get very far. I’m thinking of giving it another go this year. What I found to be a major distraction was the holiday season that kicks in at the end of the month starting with Thanksgiving.

    • Thankfully, thanksgiving is in October for us Canucks. I’m currently trying to get an outline done, since I’ve heard that this is the best way to go about tackling this huge project. Then, to just keep writing without self editing.

      Hope you give it another try this year! And if you do, I’ll be rooting for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

