The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The Maze RunnerHardcover, First Edition, 374 pages
Published October 6th 2009

 

I realize that I’m late to the party, which is weird considering that the Maze Runner was a series that I’ve been meaning to read, but never had the chance to.

Till now!

It all started when I found out the movie came out. After discussing the trailer with a friend of mine, I decided to read it. She said the trailer looked amazing and had tons of action, so as someone who loves action and amazing stuff I decided to take a closer look at the Maze Runner.

Reading this was a struggle. A really big struggle. If I didn’t agree to read it and have my friend check up on my reading status, I would have dropped this book. Why? It’s because of the first half of the novel.

The beginning is so excruciatingly boring, so painful to read that I’m surprised I made it out okay. Thomas, the main character of this story, details the mundane life of a bunch of boys trapped inside a Maze. They don’t know why they are there, but only that this is where they live now. This should have been interested, especially since outside of their home there are creatures that try to kill them and that the maze moves every day, but instead of having an air of mystery it was boring.

Thankfully, things do pick up and it does get really interesting, but that first part….I dunno man, the new lingo, the fact that nothing happens, and that it takes so long for the story to pick up made me wonder why I was reading this and why it was so popular. When things do start to get pick up, they move quickly and pack a punch.

I was thankful for that.

I was especially glad to see a group of guys take the lead in a YA novel and that they worked as a team. No Lord of the Flies rock killing happening here. People do die though, which is great considering the world that Dashner set up. If everyone lived, I think I would have thrown my ereader to the ground.

I do think that the special gift that Thomas has is a bit pointless. Yea, pointless is a good word for it. Considering how gruesome the world is, his little quirk seemed out of place. I still don’t really understand the world, but I’m sure all of that will be revealed in the following books.

Overall: This is a hard book to get into. Really hard, in fact. The pacing is slow, in the beginning, and you never really get a good grasp at Thomas as a character. However, once things pick up, they really do pick up and I found myself glued to the pages to see what would happen next.

If you can get over the first hurdle, you might find yourself enjoying this novel. I do wonder how the movie will deal with the slow beginning though.

Related articles
2 thoughts on “The Maze Runner by James Dashner

Leave a Reply

