Pointe by Brandy Colbert

PointeHardcover, 352 pages
Published April 10th 2014


“I lie there alone and think of all that I’ve lost and I wait for the tears to come but they never do.”

I’ve been debating whether to give this a three or four. Normally, main characters that constantly think about guys, talk about guys, and dream about guys, are annoying. I always want to say, “Shut up! There’s more to life than guys!” I then start to question whether my high school life was boring, because I didn’t spend every waking moment talking about guys.

And yet, Pointe is a novel where the main character will obsess, analyze, and talk about two guys at ad nauseam. I mean, she goes on and on and on. But, because of what the plot, the great writing, and how broken Theo was, I felt bad for wanting to slap some sense into her. I still wanted to, but I felt bad. Really bad. So I’d probably give her a hug or something afterwards.

I think, that’s why I liked Pointe as much as I did, even though there were some issues with this novel. I can’t mention much about the story without spoiling things, but the book starts off with Theo finding out that her childhood best friend, Donovan, has returned home after being gone for four months. Everyone assumed he was killed, but still held some hope that he’d be alive.

When he returns, Theo is forced to look at her past and face some shocking truths about herself and Donovan. It’s not easy to read and it is disturbing, but what makes it so heartbreaking is Theo’s rendition of the events. Again, I can’t really say much without spoiling so yea.

During this time, Theo starts to get closer to the new piano player at her ballet studio, Hosea. Hosea hot, mysterious, plays piano like no buddies business, goes to Theo’s school, and has a girlfriend. Theo doesn’t want him, but she’s drawn to him as they start spending time together.

This relationship will annoy you if you’re the type of person who hates girls who obsess over guys, but what makes this different is because of what we’re told about Theo’s first relationship. Theo feels like she doesn’t deserve good things and does things that you know will only end up in disaster. Almost as soon as the relationship starts, you know that it’s going to fail. You know it and Theo knows it, but she still falls in head first and cautiously waits for the fall out.

The middle portion of this book is where Theo spends the most time talking about her first love and Hosea and I felt like the book started to slow down during this part. The more I read, the more I understood why Theo was doing what she was doing though.

That being said, some of the topics that are dealt with in this novel does seem a little much and some of them are not showcased properly. For example, Theo has an eating disorder and went to a rehab type facility for help. However, when she’s back and starts to skip meals or eat less and less, no one really takes notice of it. Her parents should have realized that she wasn’t eating much, but they seemed oblivious. This didn’t ring true to me, because of what we were told about them.

I also wish that the ballet portion of the novel was a bit bigger. The cover and synopsis made me feel like this would be a big part of the story, but it wasn’t. I also felt like some of the characters weren’t as developed as Theo, Donovan, and Trent were.

And yet, here we are at four stars. The great writing and the fact that the author made me not hate a character that talked about guys so much really says something about this novel. It’s not pretty and I don’t think it will be for everyone, but I enjoyed it.

Overall: Despite the subject matter, the depressing air that hangs over the story, and the fact that the main character keeps talking about guys, this book kept my interest and made me want to read till the end. The ending did feel a bit rushed and Theo’s sudden realization did seem a bit sudden, but the build up was great. Looking back, I can appreciate the middle portion. The same middle portion that made me want to slap some sense into Theo. I may not want to be her friend or even hang out with her, but I wanted her to be happy.

Related articles
Leave a Reply

