So I failed NanoWrimo, but I think I can do this one

I saw this up on facebook and thought it was an awesome little challenge. All you have to do is write 500 words a day. How easy is that? What I like about this challenge is that, 500 words a day is doable. It’s almost hard to find excuses to not do this, because within 10 minutes you have have it done and relax.

Blogging is allowed in this, which is something I need to do more of to begin with, but I think I’m going to use this for a book. I have a few ideas swimming around in my head, but I haven’t been able to put it down. Mainly because everything tends to sound better in my head than it does on paper. What can I say, my imagination skills are awesome, but when it comes to transferring said ideas or explaining them…well, it just isn’t pretty.

But I tend to be very critical of my work, so this is something I need to work on. When it comes to this challenge, participants are asked to simply write and not edit. Like NanoWrimo, this is the hardest part for me because I’m a bit anal when it comes to my work. And not just any kind of work, but work I care about. It will be hard to not do this, but I’ll try.

And on a side note, I really need to blog more.  I’ve been reading and reading, so there will be more reviews coming up. Also, a new feature called ‘seriesous’ discussions as well.

ps. If you want to take part in this challenge and you’re a bit nervous about 500 words. Don’t be. This blog post is about 300 words, so an extra 200 is doable. Trust me!

Make sure you visit Goins, Writer for more details about this fun little challenge and to sign up as well.

4 thoughts on “So I failed NanoWrimo, but I think I can do this one

  1. Sounds like a very doable thing, a good way to set the habit of writing every day! I may have to join you; I hit 50k during NaNo this year, but I’ve barely done any writing outside of some blog posts since and really need to get back into it.

    • Congrats at hitting 50k! Every year I try out, but I either write nothing or get bored and stop. Definitely try out for this challenge, especially since it’s so doable.

  2. I’m with you. I’ve failed NaNoWriMo three years in a row but I’m going to try Goins’ challenge as well, in the hopes that it will help me establish a healthy writing/blogging habit. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

